Viewing post details...

The Australian Innovation Challenge – Winners Announced

  • /
  • /
  • in Innovation
  • /
  • by Sparka Team

On Wednesday 7 December The Australian, in association with Shell Australia and with the support of the Department of Industry, Innovation, Science, Research and Tertiary Education announced the winners of The Australian Innovation Challenge at an awards night at the State Library of Queensland in Brisbane.

Awards were presented to the seven professional categories and backyard innovation winners by Minister for Manufacturing Senator Kim Carr and Ann Pickard, Country Chair of Shell Australia.

The Australian Innovation Challenge unearthed some of the nation’s best ideas. Chris Mitchell, Editor-in-Chief of The Australian said: “We at The Australian newspaper have been interested in innovation since our paper first launched on July 15, 1964. In fact, our very first edition of the paper included a page of computing news, something unheard of in Australian newspapers at that time, nearly 50 years ago.

The Department of Industry, Innovation, Science, Research and Tertiary Education were a key supporter of the Innovation Challenge.

“There are terrific entries in all the categories, with real commercial possibilities for many of the innovations produced by the challenge this year. I look forward to our continuing involvement in the challenge next year.”

Senator Carr said: “Firms that innovate are twice as likely to boost their productivity and 2.5 times more likely to increase their contribution to their community.

The Australian Innovation Challenge showcased the kind of creative enterprise that is critical to our future as a dynamic, prosperous and outward looking nation.”

Full Article:


Comments are closed.



Suite 5, 65 Macgregor Tce | Bardon, QLD | 4065 | Australia

W |
E |
P | 07 3160 7124

Copyright © 2013 Sparka



My Great Web page